Search This Site

Thursday, 11 January 2018

CPM , CPC CTR Explained



CPM , CPC ,CPA, CTR Explained




More people are thinking about online advertising. But they also wonder about efficiency and cost.
 
Against common knowledge, there are now very precise tools that measure the success of online advertising, whether on Google Adwords or Facebook Ad. While documenting the journey of first-time publishers, we uncovered that comparing pricing models can be a bit difficult. 

This post gives a brief overview of each pricing model and explains how to compare their revenue potential.
Here is what you need to know:

CPM (Cost Per Thousand Impressions )

The most basic tool is CPM, cost per thousand of impressions, or how much it costs to have an ad published a thousand times on the Internet, and seen by users.

This one determines the cost that is agreed by the advertisers to pay for per 1,000 views for the desired advertisement. CPM is a marketing model in which there is no compulsion of clicking an ad by the visitor of a website. Only the appearance of the ad falls under CPM model, and it is considered as 1 impression every time the ad is going to presence in front of the user. A certain amount is decided to pay for every 1000 impressions which agreed by the advertisers

It’s commonly used where an advertiser wants a branding campaign; the focus is on raising consumer awareness of a company or product rather than persuading them to buy right now.
A nice easy example to start with: a website that charges a CPM of $5 will earn $5 for every 1,000 ads that its visitors see.
Calculation
It is basically the amount paid for 1000 impressions to reach 1000 users through a provided medium.The Formula is:
CPM = Cost / (Target Audience / 1000)
OR
CPM = cost x 1,000 / target audience
(CP “M” is the roman number for 1000)
CPM = what you pay to have your ad appear a thousand times
Note : When used in online advertising it relates to the cost per thousand page impressions. CPM is usually referred to the number of clicks registered in a website by the readers. Ad Networks, such as Adsense, calculate ad revenue for websites based on CPM. 


CPC (Cost per Click)
Cost per click is also known as per pay click .This is currently the most common tool used. The product owner pays the website or host every time someone clicks on an advertisement banner.

It is sometimes simply regarded as the amount spent on an advertisement to get clicked. The cost per click is defined according to keywords and success rate. A keyword is used for a search; its rate is assessed according to its success. For example, the keyword real estate will be more expensive than opossum.

Calculation

In our case we have spent $50 to $50000 per month and even more.
The formula to calculate is:
(Competitor AdRank/Your Quality Score) +0.1= Actual CPC
Example: If a website has a CPC of $0.10, and if you want to advertise on that then, you have to pay $10 for 100 clicks on your advertisement.
  • CPC = what you pay to get a click on your ad



 
CTR (Click Through Rate)

Its definition is the percentage of users who are engaging or viewing the web page and who are clicking on some specific ad present on that web page. This method is used to analyze the success of an ad in generating the interest. A high-click through rate assists the website’s owners and supports them with advertising capital on the site.

A typical click-through rate is 2-3 users from 1000 users as the users are desensitized to ads on web pages.CTR = percentage of clicks per impression

Calculation

Click- through rate is actually the percentage of individuals click on the ads. The Formula of Click Through rate isClick Through Rate= (Total Clicks on Ad) / (Total Impressions)
Click through Rate helps in measuring the advertisement’s effectiveness. The Formula is
CTR = (Clicks/Impressions) x 100

Example
 
If there is 1 click for every 1000 impression the Click Through rate is 1.0%
Note : There are a few factors which are best provided with the CTR, those are:
  • Helps in evaluating the call to action ad copy
  • Provides the users who is the potential conversion
  • Assist to determine success in compare with competitors and even between campaigns
  • Enhance Quality Score which ultimately improves CPC and increases ROI

CPA (Cost per Action)

CPA (Cost per acquisition/Cost per action) is the marketing model where only after a delivery of desired acquisition or action the advertisers have to pay as per agreed costs. It is considered as the most effective marketing model, as advertisers have to pay only when the advertisement meets the desired purpose. In this model the conversion rate totally depends on the conversion rate of the advertiser’s website, which cannot be controlled by publisher. It is generally used for affiliate marketing links.

A conversion is an action that was considered useful by a user on your website, such as subscribing to a newsletter or buying a product. These conversions must be defined in the beginning of an ad campaign.

CPA (Cost-per-acquisition) is the method in which advertisers decided to pay as per their budget and the amount they want to spend on a conversion which is desired by them. This model mainly focuses on the conversion instead of just clicks. The advertisers as use pay per click model, but the AdWords automatically adjust the bids to get more conversion. In this model after setting up conversion optimizer a target CPA is set to get the best outcome.

The theoretical maximum for CPA should never go over the margin that you get when you sell a product. For example, if your margin on a camera is CHF50, your CPA should not be more than CHF50. If you go over your maximum CPA, you lose money with each conversion.
 
In order to optimize your CPA, you must have a Google Adwords campaign well organized, and Google Analytics statistics that are well programmed. The conversion goals must be clearly defined from the beginning.

Calculation

eCPC( estimated CPM) = CPA * AR
For example consider an advertiser who pays $10 per action (CPA) and 10% of visitors carry out the action (AR). This equates the an estimated cost per click of $1.
10 * 0.1 = $1
We can take this eCPC and convert it to an eCPM the same way as we did above. Let’s assume the same rate of 15 in every 10,000 visitors clicks on the ad (CTR 0.0015). This yields an eCPM of $1.50
1.00 * 0.0015 * 1,000 = $1.50
  • CPA = Cost to obtain a conversion


Cost Per Lead (CPL)

CPL, or Cost per Lead is another online advertising model used by organizations which are interested in investing money for lead generated. In this marketing model the user as clicked on the advertisement banner will redirected to the target site and asked to fill a form or call to perform a subscription. As soon as the users perform the desired action, a lead is generated, for which the advertisers have to pay based on the agreement for CPL. CPA (Cost per Acquisition / Cot per Action) and CPL (Cost Per Lead) are generally used interchangeably, but Cost per lead advertising method is considered more specific.

Measuring the CPL (Cost per lead) is performed in various ways. It is suggested to use simple calculation. To calculate it simply divide the total price of your campaign with the amount of conversion you get. 

For example, if you spent $500 for an advertisement and received 10 clicks, then the CPL is $50. But in reality the price is a very small factor to beconsidered, the source of the lead is important. 

To understand this a prompt query is asked, how did you hear about us? As the conversion source is not necessarily shown in the analytics, this can provide you the way to record and track
 Cost per lead or CPL is equally important to your business compared with other marketing models. The basic thing for the marketing model is that the focus is the results, the improvement the business activity the sales team is experiencing, the change in revenue, the return on investment and every other thing. With CPL it helps you compare value for your business, in case of small and new business the CPL model will vary significantly. CPL is providing much higher results in the beginning of any campaign. These are the basic paid marketing models which every advertiser and business/website owner experience. This article is to provide you every basic detail with the advertising models mentioned above, to assist you to select the best as per your business and as per your budget.


So There You Are With All You Need

No comments:

Post a Comment